Summary of GGA Standards

Middle School 6th-8th Grades


Standards — what learners should know (content) and be able to do (skills), serve as the framework for curriculum development. Standards in NAD Seventh-day Adventist schools reflect a Biblical & Adventist worldview across the K-12 curricula as well as the integration of national and provincial/state standards. 

Golden Gate Academy accepts the Bible as the standard by which everything else is measured. Four key concepts emerge from a biblical worldview that can be used as a lens for curriculum development, as well as informing the essential questions and big ideas of any content area:

  • Creation (What is God’s intention?)
  • Fall (How has God’s purpose been distorted?)
  • Redemption (How does God help us to respond?)
  • Re-creation (How can we be restored in the image of God?).

Upper School 9th-12th Grades


Standards for Secondary Courses in Seventh-day Adventist Schools have been developed to guide an instructional program that is infused with Christian faith and an Adventist worldview. An education of this kind leads to strong academic growth and a clear picture of Christ and His love for mankind. These standards focus on what students should know, understand and be able to do. 

Secondary standards for the offered courses accomplish the following: 

  • Provide clear expectations for student learning and accountability.
  • Provide an essential user-friendly tool for developing instruction.
  • Transform textbooks from a curriculum guide to a resource for instruction.
  • Provide for a complete and uniform Adventist secondary curriculum.
  • Have been developed exclusively by Seventh-day Adventist educators.
  • Have been aligned with the goals of Journey to Excellence
  • Have been developed using national and state standards, NAD curriculum guides, and standards compendiums such as those produced by 21st Century Framework and Battelle and PMI.